Texas State Board of Pharmacy Continuing Education Requirements
Pharmacists must complete and report 30 hours of approved CE obtained during the previous license period in order to renew their license to practice pharmacy. Any hours obtained in excess of the amount required to renew cannot be carried forward to the next license period.
More information on continuing education requirements can be obtained online at the Texas State Board of Pharmacy.
For new graduates and reciprocating pharmacists, receive information on the Texas Pharmacy Law Symposium and the Texas Guide to Pharmacy & Drug Law.
Between each registration renewal period, (every 2 years) technicians must meet one the following requirements regarding Continuing Education (CE) have:
• completed 20 hours Continuing Education (CE),with one hour being pharmacy law.
• a current certification with Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB).
For individuals interested in becoming a pharmacy technician, please view the formal education and training requirements to become a Registered Technician in Texas.
There are currently no minimum CE requirements for diabetes certification by TSBP, however, If you are interested in becoming a Certified Diabetes Educator (CDE) then visit the sites below for eligibility and requirements.
Visit the online CE catalog for programs providing diabetes specific continuing education.
There are currently no minimum CE requirements for diabetes certification by TSBP, however, if you are interested in becoming a PCAB accredited pharmacy then visit the sites below for eligibility and requirements. Please note that PCAB requires a structured learning plan for compounding pharmacists.